• Advertisement

Subscribe to my free newsletter

Receive HTML?

Joomla : The Best Online Inco

Money matters - oppsincome.com

Everything related to making money on the internet, including but not limited to opportunities, due diligence, advertising, marketing and list building.

Oakleaf Fund - Real or scam?

By Administrator on
Owner of the website oppsincome.com
User is currently offline
May 13 in Money Matters

Some members have pointed me to the Oakleaf Fund and asked me what I thought of them. I didn't hear of it before.

Oakleaf Fund introduces itself as a managed fund that has 4 programs available; O1, O2, O3 and O4. The program is by invitation only and requires a minimum of $1k investment. When you request information they will send you a PDF document with information.

I haven't joined Oakleaf Fund for various reasons.

Looking at the email I noticed some suspicious things. First of all the email header.  It was send from Yahoo by a user presumably called 'oakleaffund'.  I tried looking up the user profile but Yahoo says it can't find that user. That's odd..

The originating IP adress is  On domaintools.com you can find that this address is used in California US.  Alright, it is an American.  Makes sense when reading the PDF document in the email, that is American alright.

The return email is ' This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it '.  Notice the domain only has 1 'f', instead of oakleaffund.com.  Not what I'd expect.  The single f version is consistently used throughout the PDF document.

The published trading results in the PDF document go back to 2007.  They seem to have been around for a while.  Or so they say.

Next I checked the WHOIS report on oakleafund.com and found that it was only registered 1 April 2011.   And not just that, it expires on 1 April 2012 which means this was only registered for 1 year.  That doesn't make a lot of sense for a program that has been around since 2007.  Everybody knows you should at least register any domain names you intend to use in the future.  For $10 a year.. what would prevent them from doing that?

Other details in the WHOIS report are hidden (protected).  There are no contact details in the PDF document as well.  Why are they keeping their where abouts a secret?

Looking at the PDF document itself I noticed it was created on 26 April 2011.  That's fairly recent.  This makes sense looking at the domain registration date.  Could it be that they are in fact new?

Looking at the content of the PDF document I see they are doing most of their business in Panama, Seychelles, and Hong Kong (China).  They also state they are following standard Know Your Customer (KYC) policies in these jurisdictions.  As a result they are asking for your name, address, email, amount and a short description of where the funds come from.

I've been through a few KYC processes myself and I had to do more than that.  I had to provide a copy of ID for example and I was only allowed to deposit money from a personal bank account.  Emailing some info without having to back it up is pretty much useless isn't it?  I can't imagine that will suffice, not even in Panama, Seychelles and China. Either there is a KYC policy with rules that make verification possible, or there isn't.  This makes no sense at all to me.

Searching  Google for some info I see that Ken Russo is promoting this.  I don't know for how long but I could only find a message from him that dates from april 2011.  I've had a negative experience with Ken in the past but that doesn't say anything about this program.  It does strike me as odd that I can't find any other info on it.  That makes me believe that this program is actually very new and does not go back to 2007.

All in all I don't feel comfortable handing over $1k or more to a group of people that tries very hard to hide and who's claims or where abouts can not be verified.


Tags: scam, oakleaf
Hits: 51687

Digital Currency News

How To Properly Choose A Password
Choosing a secure password is one of the most important security measures you can take when working with anything online. It will help keep your personal information and identity safe and secure. First, let’s talk about passwords that would be...

Food for thought

" A gentle hand may lead even an elephant by a single hair. "

~Iranian Proverb